Super Lega 2022 - Competition Formula

The Lega Pallavolo SuperLega Credem Banca is Italy's top men's league. Twelve clubs will participate in the 2022/23 league, which is split into two phases. The first phase, also known as the Regular Season, runs from October to March and features two legs, with each club playing all the other clubs in the league twice. At the end of the Regular Season, the top eight clubs progress to the Playoffs, which include quarterfinals, semifinals and finals.

The league was founded post-World War II and the first championships were hosted by the city of Genoa.

As volleyball became popular in the northern regions of the country like Piemonte, Lombardia, Emilia-Romagna and Toscana, clubs based in Ravenna, Modena, Parma, Bologna and Florence dominated for more than 30 years.

In the 1980s, the popularity of the Italian men’s national team also led to the growth of the league until it became the most competitive league in the world with the presence of legendary Italian and international players.

Robur Ravenna were the inaugural winners of the Italian League. Volley Modena are the most successful club in history with 12 titles and their last successful title run was in the 2015-2016 season.

In the last decade, four teams have dominated the Italian championship. Lube Volley have been the most prominent team with six titles won in 2011-2012, 2013-2014, 2016-2017, 2018-2019, 2020-2021 and 2021-22.

Trentino won two titles in 2012-2013 and 2014-2015, and Modena and Perugia have one title each in 2015-2016 and 2017-2018, respectively.

In the last four editions, Perugia and Lube Volley have faced each other in the finals, with the former winning the first encounter before conceding the next three to the latter.