Poland on the attack against the Soviet Union (3-0) at Moscow's Central Dynamo Stadium in the deciding match of the 1952 FIVB Women's World Championship.

For the first time in history the hosting of a women's volleyball World Championship will be a joint operation between two countries, when the Netherlands and Poland get to welcome the world's elite for the 2022 FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship from September 23 to October 15.

This will be the 19th edition of the International Volleyball Federation's flagship event, which dates back to the inaugural event held in 1952 in Moscow.

It is the first time that either the Netherlands or Poland get to host the prestigious competition.


Russia celebrate winning the gold medal at the 2006 World Championship after beating Brazil 3-2 in the final.

Other than the Soviet Union, that hosted the inaugural event in 1952 and followed up with the 1962 and 1978 editions, other organisers have been France (1956), Brazil (1960 and 1994), Japan (1967, 1998, 2006, 2010 and 2018), Bulgaria (1970), Mexico (1974), Peru (1982), Czechoslovakia (1986), China (1990), Germany (2002) and Italy (2014).

Russia, including as Soviet Union, have won the world title a record seven times (1952, 1956, 1960, 1970, 1990, 2006, 2010). Japan (1962, 1967, 1974) and Cuba (1978, 1994, 1998) with three titles each, plus China (1982, 1986) with two are other multi-champions throughout the history of the competition.

Other countries to have struck gold are Italy (2002), USA (2014) and Serbia (2018).