Anne Buijs

There are exciting times ahead for the Dutch national team, who will participate in the 2022 Volleyball Nations League before co-hosting the FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championship.

Earlier this week, coach Avital Selinger announced a long list of 29 players who will gather once club seasons end, featuring many familiar faces. The players who represented the Netherlands at the 2021 CEV European Championship, when the Dutch finished fourth, have all been called up again for the 2022 season.

Furthermore, fifteen of the 18 players who were on the team's roster for the 2021 VNL, when the Oranjes finished seventh, will also again be part of the national team this year.

Dutch stars Robin De Kruijf and Yvon Belien, however, are absent from the list after announcing their retirement from the national team.

The 2022 squad features outstanding scorers Nika Daalderop and Anne Bujis, blockers Juliet Lohuis and Eline Timmerman, setters Britt Bongaerts and Laura Dijkema, and defender Myrthe Schoot, among others.

Coach Selinger has some friendly games with France and Belgium in the plans for the second half of May, before the Netherlands travel to Ankara to start their VNL campaign on May 31. The Oranjes will aim to eventually make it back to Ankara for the Finals of the competition, after also playing pools in Brasilia and Calgary.

The Netherlands and Poland will co-host the Women's World Championship from September 23 through October 15, with their first match set to take place in Arnhem against Kenya.

Netherlands women’s national team roster:

Setters: Britt Bongaerts, Hyke Lyklema, Kim Klein Lankhorst, Laura Dijkema, Sarah van Aalen

Opposites: Celeste Plak, Elles Dambrink, Iris Scholten, Marieke van der Mark

Outside hitters: Anne Buijs, Famke Boonstra, Fleur Savelkoel, Iris Vos, Jolien Knollema, Jolijn de Haan, Maret Grothues, Marrit Jasper, Nika Daalderop

Middle blockers: Britte Stuut, Demi Korevaar, Eline Timmerman, Indy Baijens, Juliet Lohuis, Laura de Zwart, Tessa Polder

Liberos: Florien Reesink, Kirsten Knip, Myrthe Schoot, Romy Brokking